DEUTSCHENGLISH
About Rectorate University Administration Boards Faculties Political Communication Who is Who Campus Krems Virtual Tour Location Campus-Plan Partners Imprint

Campus Krems

Europe’s New Education Center

For elite universities throughout the world, the Campus is a byword for, and a focus of, student life. Since October 2005 Danube University Krems is also a campus university. Spanning an area of 34,000 square meters*, the campus is utilized jointly by IMC Fachhochschule Krems (a polytechnic institution), the Karl Landsteiner University of Health Sciences, the Austrian Film Gallery, and other institutions. It is equipped with very modern teaching and research facilities, comfortable accommodations, a varied range of food services, and an arthouse cinema. With 9,000 students and more than 600 staff members, Campus Krems offers the ideal environment for learning, research and living.
 
Campus gesamt
Approximately EUR 56.4m were invested in the new buildings which made the Krems campus into Austria’s largest construction project in the education sector. Today, 9,000 students of Danube University Krems and of IMC FH Krems, learn and research on the university site.
History of Krems campus: From a Tobacco factory to an Intellectual workshop
Danube University Krems – from a model project to a competence center of advanced education in Central Europe

Transparent Architecture

The design for the new buildings is the creation of Architekt Dietmar Feichtinger, who places a new facade of steel, glass and aluminium opposite the industrial building from the previous century. The model submitted by the Paris-based Austrian architect convinced the jury through its transparent structure and the harmonious integration of the existing building.

Feichtinger explains his concept as follows: "We have taken pains to incorporate the existing typologies and transparent structures. We have given attention to important aspects such as preserving the possibility to experience the surrounding vineyards, and thus merging existing structures and extensions into a functioning whole.” His concept integrates the comb-shaped structure of the historical tobacco factory and brings the industrial building face to face with a new façade of steel, glass and aluminum. Thus, the old and the new joint to form a successful and harmonious unit.
Feichtinger Architectes

Good travel connections

The Campus is very well connected with the public transport network. For students and lecturers who come by car, there is a car park on the Campus.
How to find Danube University Krems

Service Center "campus west"

The Campus was extended further in August 2008: the service center "campus west" complements the existing services for students and University staff in an optimal way by providing a hotel, restaurants, a fashion house and a hairdresser, a wellness and fitness center, office and training rooms, and a car park.

For you at campus west
Arte Hotel Krems
2stein Bar - Café - Restaurant (German Site)
Cimbalino Caffè + Bar (German Site)
AlexAndrA Styling - Cafe - Fashion (German Site)
Körperkult Fitness & Gesundheit (German Site)
Parking garage “campus west”

DEUTSCHENGLISH
Wir über uns Rektorat Universitätsverwaltung Gremien und Organe Fakultäten Plattform Politische Kommunikation - netPOL Lehrstandort Memmingen Personen-Verzeichnis Campus Krems Anreise Campus-Plan Beteiligungen Partner Impressum

Campus Krems

Bildungszentrum im Herzen Europas

Der Campus ist für Elite-Universitäten weltweit Markenzeichen und Zentrum des Studentenlebens. Seit Oktober 2005 ist auch die Donau-Universität Krems Campus-Uni. Das 34.000 Quadratmeter* große Areal wird gemeinsam mit der IMC Fachhochschule Krems, der Karl Landsteiner Privatuniversität für Gesundheitswissenschaften, der Österreichischen Filmgalerie und anderen Institutionen genutzt und verfügt über modernste Lehr- und Forschungseinrichtungen, komfortable Unterkünfte, ein abwechslungsreiches Gastronomieangebot und ein Programmkino. 9.000 Studierenden und mehr als 600 MitarbeiterInnen bietet der Campus Krems die ideale Umgebung zum Lernen, Forschen und Leben.
 
Campus gesamt
56,4 Millionen Euro investierte das Land Niederösterreich in den Neubau auf dem ehemaligen Firmengelände der Tabaccoland Handels GesmbH. Der Campus Krems ist ein einzigartiges Projekt in Bezug auf Architektur, Innovation und Lebensgefühl. Erstmals in Österreich arbeiten hier eine Universität und eine Fachhochschule auf einem Campus zusammen. Zudem wurde für die Österreichische Filmgalerie das ehemalige Kesselhaus der Austria-Tabak-Fabrik mit seinem markanten Schlot revitalisiert und bietet nun einem Programmkino, dem Archiv der Zeitgenossen und der "Filmbar" Platz. Mit dem Campus Krems erhielt die Stadt Krems ein neues Wahrzeichen von internationaler Bedeutung.
Geschichte des Campus Krems: Von der Tabakfabrik zur Denkwerkstatt
Donau-Universität Krems - Vom Modellprojekt zum mitteleuropäischen Kompetenzzentrum für Weiterbildung

Transparente Architektur

Der Entwurf für die Neubauten stammt von Architekt DI Dietmar Feichtinger. Das Modell des in Paris lebenden Österreichers überzeugte die Jury unter der Leitung von Univ.-Prof. Arch. Friedrich Kurrent durch seine transparente Bauweise und die harmonische Eingliederung des bestehenden Gebäudes.

"Wir haben uns bemüht, die vorhandenen Typologien und durchlässigen Strukturen aufzunehmen. Wichtiges wie etwa die Erlebbarkeit der umgebenden Weinberge trotzdem zu bewahren und so Bestand und Erweiterung zu einem funktionierenden Ganzen zusammenzufügen", erklärt Feichtinger sein Konzept. Sein Entwurf integriert die kammartige Baustruktur der historischen Tabakfabrik und stellt dem Industriebau aus dem vorigen Jahrhundert eine neue Fassade aus Stahl, Glas und Aluminium gegenüber. Alt und Neu bilden so eine gelungene Einheit.
Architekt Dietmar Feichtinger

Gute Verkehrsanbindung

Der Campus ist hervorragend an das öffentliche Verkehrsnetz angebunden. Für Studierende und Vortragende, die mit dem Pkw kommen, steht ein Parkhaus auf dem Campus zur Verfügung.
Anreise

Dienstleistungszentrum "campus west"

Im August 2008 wurde der Campus erneut erweitert: Das Dienstleistungszentrum "campus west" ergänzt das bestehende Serviceangebot für Studierende und UniversitätsmitarbeiterInnen mit einem Hotel, Gastronomiebetrieben, einem Mode- und Friseursalon, Wellness- und Fitness-Center, Büro- und Schulungsräumen und einer Parkgarage optimal.