DEUTSCHENGLISH
News-Archive Research Visual Analytics & Information Visualization Information Extraction and Integration Plan Management Medical Information Systems Miscellaneous Projects Team
VisMaster
Visual Analytics - Mastering the Information Age
VisMaster is a European Coordination Action Project focused on the research discipline of Visual Analytics: One of the most important challenges of the emerging Information Age is to effectively utilise the immense wealth of information and data acquired, computed and stored by modern information systems.
Contact
 
 
Project partners


 
 
Austria


Finland
France


Germany





Greece
Italy


The Netherlands


Norway
Sweden
Switzerland

United Kingdom

 
Duration
 
August 2008 - August 2010
Project

 
 
VisMaster is a European Coordination Action Project focused on the research discipline of Visual Analytics: One of the most important challenges of the emerging Information Age is to effectively utilise the immense wealth of information and data acquired, computed and stored by modern information systems. On the one hand, the appropriate use of available information volumes offers large potential to realize technological progress and business success. On the other hand, there exists the severe danger that users and analysts easily get lost in irrelevant, or inappropriately processed or presented information, a problem which is generally called the information overload problem. Visual Analytics is an emerging research discipline developing technology to make the best possible use of huge information loads in a wide variety of applications. The basic idea is to appropriately combine the strengths of intelligent automatic data analysis with the visual perception and analysis capabilities of the human user.

With VisMaster, we want to push the limits of today's Visual Analytics. To achieve this goal, we formed a Coordination Action to join European academic and industrial R&D excellence from several individual disciplines, forming a strong Visual Analytics research community. The project is divided into an array of thematic working groups that focus on advancing the state of the art in Visual Analytics. Specifically, the working groups will join excellence in the fields of data management, data analysis, spatial-temporal data, and human visual perception research with the wider visualisation research community.

The VisMaster Project main goals are to
 
  • form and shape a strong European Visual Analytics community
  • define the European Visual Analytics Research Roadmap
  • expose public and private stakeholders to Visual Analytics technology
  • set the stage for larger follow-up Visual Analytics research initiatives in Europe.

 

 

Funding
 
Seventh Research Framework  Programme [FP7]
Homepage

http://www.vismaster.eu/

 

 

 

VisMaster at ICT 2010 >> VisMaster CA: Visual Analytics to Master the Information Age

DEUTSCHENGLISH
News-Archiv Veranstaltungs-Archiv Forschung & Projekte Visual Analytics & Informationsvisualisierung Informationsextraktion und - integration Plan Management Medizinische Informationssysteme sonstige Projekte TIMNEWS Online Team
VisMaster
Visual Analytics - Mastering the Information Age
VisMaster ist ein europäisches Koordinationsprojekt das sich auf die Forschungsdisziplin Visual Analytics konzentriert. Eine der wichtigsten Herausforderungen des aufstrebenden Informationszeitalters ist eine effiziente Nutzung der immensen Menge von Informationen und Daten, die erfasst, berechnet und gespeichert durch moderne Informationssysteme sind.
Kontakt

Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Silvia Miksch LogoRTEmagicC_VisMasterAufg.jpg

Projektpartner  

Austria

 

 Finland
France

 

 

Germany

 

 

 

 

Greece
Italy

 

 
The Netherlands

 


Norway
Sweden
Switzerland


United Kingdom

 

 

Projektdauer
August 2008 - August 2010
 
Projekt

VisMaster ist ein europäisches Koordinationsprojekt, das sich auf die Forschungsdisziplin Visual Analytics konzentriert. Eine der wichtigsten Herausforderungen des beginnenden Informationszeitalters ist eine effiziente Nutzung der immensen Menge von Informationen und Daten, die durch moderne Informationssysteme erfasst, berechnet und gespeichert werden. Auf der einen Seite bietet uns die entsprechende Verwendung der verfügbaren Datenmengen großes Potenzial, um technologischen Fortschritt und wirtschaftlichen Erfolg zu verwirklichen. Auf der anderen Seite kann es gefährlich leicht passieren, dass Benutzer und Analysten aufgrund von irrelevanten, unangemessen verarbeiteten oder unangemessen präsentierten Daten die Übersicht verlieren. Dieses Problem ist im Allgemeinen als Überfrachtung mit Informationen bekannt. Visual Analytics ist eine aufstrebende Forschungsdisziplin, um Technologie zu entwickeln, um riesige Informationsmengen in einer Vielzahl von Anwendungen bestmöglich zu nutzen. Die grundlegende Idee ist, in geeigneter Weise die Stärken der intelligenten und automatischen Daten-Analyse mit der visuellen Wahrnehmung und Analysefähigkeit des menschlichen Benutzers zu verbinden.


Mit VisMaster wollen wir die Grenzen der heutigen Visual Analytics Methoden erweitern. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, haben wir eine Koordinierungsmaßnahme gebildet, die exzellente europäische akademische und industrielle Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentren aus mehreren Einzeldisziplinen zusammenbringt. Ziel ist die Schaffung einer Forschungsgemeinschaft im Bereich Visual Analytics. Das Projekt gliedert sich in eine Reihe von thematischen Arbeitsgruppen, die sich darauf konzentrieren, den Stand der Technik in Visual Analytics voranzutreiben. Die Arbeitsgruppen beschäftigen sich im Besonderen damit, Exzellenz in den Bereichen Datenmanagement, Datenanalyse, raum-zeit-orienterte Daten und menschliche visuelle Wahrnehmung mit der breiten Visualisierungs-Forschungsgemeinschaft zu vernetzen.

 

Die wichtigsten Ziele von VisMaster sind:

 

  • Eine starke europäischen Gemeinschaft in Visual Analytics zu formen und gestalten
  • Zielvereinbahrungen für die europäische Visual–Analytics-Forschung zu definieren
  • Öffentliche und private Interessenten für Visual-Analytics-Technologien herauszustellen
  • Die Voraussetzungen für größere Nachfolgeinitiativen der Visual-Analytics-Forschung in Europa zu schaffen

 

  

Förderung

7. Rahmenprogramm [FP7], Projektnummer: 225924

 

Weiterführende Informationen

http://www.vismaster.eu/

 

 

VisMaster at ICT 2010 >> VisMaster CA: Visual Analytics to Master the Information Age