DEUTSCHENGLISH
Micro- and Nano Sensors Distributed Systems and Sensor Networks Modeling and Simulation Water and environmental sensors Publications Team Scientific Events Awards Cooperations Infrastructure Contact

Department for Integrated Sensor Systems

Concepts and Methodologies for Integrated Smart Sensors

The Department for Integrated Sensor Systems, located in Wiener Neustadt and Krems, develops concepts and methods for smart sensors and sensor systems.

As an answer to the social challenges of the 21st century our modern world today is increasingly shaped by digital communication and sensor networks. Digital data creation, processing, and networking are key issues for lifestyle gadgets as well as for high tech manufacturing plants. Research and development of innovative concepts for high performance sensors and sensor networks is at the heart of the department, providing solutions for a widespread range of applications, such as building automation, industrial automation, medicine, traffic control, environmental monitoring, and multi-media and home appliances.

The diversified, interdisciplinary expertise of the department revolves around the core topics of the four research units and includes sensor development and manufacturing in micro- and nanotechnology, microelectronics, function-, system-, and circuit integration, communication technology, and modelling/simulation. The department combines all scientific expertise necessary for the development of sensor systems from the transducer technology up to complex system integration aspects in a single research team, an asset not found elsewhere in Austria.

Current research activities focus on wearables, building automation, smart traffic systems, biomolecular diagnostics, spintronics, metamaterials, thermal sensors, magnetic materials and sensors, hybrid microsystems, physical biosensors, data management and coordination in sensor networks, localization and clock synchronization, security in sensor networks, analytical and numerical modelling, and sensor systems simulation and optimization.



Head:  
Integrated Sensor Systems
Photo: DISS ZOOM
Gruppenfoto 245
Photo: DISS ZOOM

DEUTSCHENGLISH
Mikro- und Nanosensorik Verteilte Systeme und Sensornetzwerke Modellierung und Simulation Wasser und Umweltsensorik Publikationen Team Wissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen Preise und Auszeichnungen Kooperationspartner Infrastruktur Kontakt

Department für Integrierte Sensorsysteme

Konzepte und Methoden für integrierte, intelligente Sensoren

Das Department für Integrierte Sensorsysteme an den Standorten Wiener Neustadt und Krems entwickelt Konzepte und Methoden für smarte Sensoren und Sensorsysteme.

Um die gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts zu meistern, ist unsere heutige Welt von einer zunehmenden Digitalisierung und kommunikativen Vernetzung unserer Umgebung geprägt, die mit einer rapiden Zunahme der Datenerfassung durch Sensoren einhergehen. Das Department forscht dabei an innovativen Sensorlösungen und deren Vernetzung in so verschiedenen Anwendungsgebieten wie Gebäudemanagement, industrieller Automation (Industrie 4.0), Medizintechnik, Verkehr, Umwelt, Wasser, sowie in Multimedia- und Haushaltsprodukten.

Die vielfältige interdisziplinäre Expertise in den vier Fachbereichen des Departments umfasst die mikro- und nanotechnologische Sensorentwicklung und -herstellung, Mikroelektronik, Funktions-, System- und Schaltungsintegrationsaspekte, sowie Kommunikationstechnologie und Modellierung/Simulation. Einzigartig in Österreich ist dabei, dass die technologische Wertschöpfungskette in Sensorsystemen breitgefächert abgedeckt und Forschungsfragen umfassend und multidisziplinär in einem einzigen Forschungszentrum bearbeitet werden.

Aktuelle Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen tragbare Sensorik (wearables), Gebäudeautomation, smarte Verkehrssysteme, biomolekulare Diagnostik, Spintronik, Metamaterialien, thermische Sensoren, magnetische Materialien und Sensoren, Mikro-Hybridsysteme, physikalische Biosensoren, Datenmanagement und Koordination in Sensornetzwerken, Lokalisierung und Uhrensynchronisation, Sicherheit in Sensornetzwerken, analytische und numerische Modellierung und in der Simulation und Optimierung von Sensorsystemen.


Leitung:  
Integrierte Sensorsysteme
Foto: DISS ZOOM
Gruppenfotohp 245
Foto: DISS ZOOM