DEUTSCHENGLISH
Program Guide MBA MSc Short-term Programs Overview of Studies FAQs Fields of Studies and Competences Seminar/Modules DBS Method Accreditation Research Consulting Team

Frequently Asked Questions

Team of Danube Business School

 

 

 

Is Danube University Krems a public or a private university?

Danube University Krems is a public (governmental) university. As a public university it is subject to the same accountability and examination duties towards the federal ministry as are all public universities in Austria. However, the university is run according to private-economy criteria. Danube University Krems finances more than 75 per cent of its budget from its own income.

back

 

 

 
How does one evaluate a Master's degree obtained at a university course?

Austrian Master's degrees in continuing education are issued after completion of university courses (in addition to other types of courses). These courses are comparable with foreign Master's courses in respect of entrance requirements, scope, and prerequisites.

 

Evaluation in Austria:
Master's degrees in continuing education are academic degrees based on a completed specialized training (continuing education) with strong emphasis on the respective profession, for which a qualified degree or an equivalent qualification is an admission requirement. University courses can be regarded as equivalent courses which may entitle a student to be admitted for a doctorate course; this equivalence will be reviewed by the concerned university in the individual case. In terms of professional law, a Master's degree obtained in the course of one's continuing education may be a prerequisite for being permitted to perform certain types of commercial work.
Master's degrees in continuing education are not identical with a Master's degree obtained after completion of one's regular studies.

 
International evaluation:
Master's degrees in continuing education correspond to the specialization courses parallel to doctorate courses, which are offered in some countries (e.g. "Magistar" in Croatia; "Master Universitario" in Italy, etc.). A student with a Master's degree should not assume he will be automatically admitted to a doctorate course in a foreign country; however, this may occur in some cases.

back

 

 
 
What admission requirements must I fulfill in order to study at Danube University Krems?
Since Danube University Krems is a university for postgraduate education, the prerequisite is a completed university course (at least a Bachelor’s degree). However, we also offer the possibility of doing a University course for those with an equivalent professional degree. You will find the prerequisites for the courses in the course descriptions.

back

 

 
 
Are university courses on par with regular studies or should they be viewed as extraordinary courses?
Danube University Krems offers university-based continuing education in the form of university courses. All university courses are extraordinary courses (University Law, §51(20)). According to this law, attendees of university courses are extraordinary students.

back

 

 
 
Can students' achievements at university courses be recognized as a part of regular studies?
The students' achievements in university courses can be accredited for their regular studies. The ultimate authority for the decision always rests with the organisation or university providing the accreditation.

back

 

 
 
Does Danube University Krems also offer undergraduate studies?
No. Danube University Krems is a university for continuing education. It offers persons who already have a university degree or those with equivalent professional experience further courses which serve the purpose of specialization, deepening and updating their knowledge. The admission requirements vary, depending on the course. You will find details about the individual courses in the description of each course.

back

 

 
 
Does Danube University Krems also offer PhD programs?
Currently, Danube University Krems offers only university-based continuing education in the form of university courses, but it is planning to establish PhD programs by 2015.
In February 2014, the National Council and the Federal Council decided to assign the right to award doctorates for Danube University Krems. As a first step, three PhD programs are planned in the fields "Regenerative Medicine", "Migration Studies" and "Space and Social Inclusion".

back

 

 

 

Is Danube University Krems obliged to have its courses accredited?

According to Austrian law, public universities are not subject to any obligations concerning accreditation. Nevertheless, Danube University Krems requests accreditation for many of its courses by international agencies. 

back


 
 
What are ECTS points?  
European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) is a standard for comparing the study attainment and performance of students of higher education across the European Union. For successfully completed studies, ECTS credits are awarded. One academic year corresponds to 60 ECTS-credits in all countries irrespective of standard or qualification type and is used to facilitate transfer and progression throughout the Union.


back

 

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions - Distance Learning

FAQ - Distance Learning

DEUTSCHENGLISH
Studienwegweiser MBA MSc Kurzprogramme Studienübersicht Häufige Fragen Studien- und Kompetenzbereiche Kooperationen DBS-Methode Qualitätssicherung / Akkreditierungen Stipendien Veranstaltungen News Forschung Consulting Team

Häufige Fragen zum Studium

Team der Danube Business School

 

 

Ist die Donau-Universität Krems eine private oder eine öffentliche Universität?

Die Donau-Universität Krems ist eine öffentliche Universität, die auf Weiterbildung spezialisiert ist. Als öffentliche Universität unterliegt sie den gleichen Prüf- und Rechenschaftspflichten gegenüber dem Bundesministerium wie alle anderen öffentlichen Universitäten Österreichs. Die Donau-Universität Krems wird jedoch nach privatwirtschaftlichen Kriterien geführt: Mehr als 75 Prozent ihres Budgets finanziert sie aus eigenen Einnahmen.

back

 

 

Wie sind im Rahmen eines Universitätslehrgangs erworbene Mastergrade zu bewerten?

Die österreichischen Mastergrade in der Weiterbildung werden nach Abschluss von Universitätslehrgängen verliehen, die in Zugangsbedingungen, Umfang und Anforderungen entsprechenden ausländischen Masterstudien vergleichbar sind. Die Mastergrade der Weiterbildung sind jedoch nicht identisch mit den Mastergraden aufgrund des Abschlusses ordentlicher Studien.
 
Bewertung in Österreich:
Mastergrade in der Weiterbildung sind akademische Grade auf der Grundlage einer abgeschlossenen spezialisierten Ausbildung (Weiterbildung) mit starkem Berufsbezug, für das ein abgeschlossenes Studium bzw. eine gleichwertige Qualifikation Zulassungsvoraussetzung ist. Die Universitätslehrgänge können unter die gleichwertigen Studien fallen, die zur Aufnahme eines Doktoratsstudiums berechtigen können; diese Gleichwertigkeit ist von der betreffenden Universität im Einzelfall zu prüfen. Berufsrechtlich können Mastergrade in der Weiterbildung Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zu bestimmten gewerblichen Tätigkeiten sein.
 
Internationale Bewertung:
Mastergrade in der Weiterbildung entsprechen den Spezialisierungsstudien, die in manchen Staaten parallel zu den Doktoratsstudien eingerichtet sind (z.B. „Magistar“ in Kroatien oder „Master Universitario“ in Italien). Aufgrund eines Mastergrades ist nicht mit einer automatischen Zulassung zu einem Doktoratsstudium im Ausland zu rechnen; allerdings kann diese im Einzelfall erfolgen.
 

back

 

 

Welche Zulassungsvoraussetzungen muss ich für das Studium an der Donau-Universität Krems erfüllen?

Als Universität für Weiterbildung setzt die Donau-Universität Krems grundsätzlich ein abgeschlossenes Studium (mindestens Bachelor-Abschluss) voraus. Sie bietet jedoch in vielen Fällen auch InteressentInnen mit gleichzuhaltender beruflicher Qualifikation die Möglichkeit eines Studiums. Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen entnehmen Sie bitte den einzelnen Lehrgangsbeschreibungen.

back

 

 

Handelt es sich bei Universitätslehrgängen um ordentliche oder außerordentliche Studien?

Die Donau-Universität Krems bietet universitäre Weiterbildung in Form von Universitätslehrgängen an. Alle Universitätslehrgänge sind außerordentliche Studien (Universitätsgesetz §51(20)). Die Studierenden in Universitätslehrgängen sind demnach außerordentliche Studierende.

back

 

 

Werden Leistungen aus Universitätslehrgängen für ordentliche Studien anerkannt?

Leistungen aus Universitätslehrgängen können für ordentliche Studien anerkannt werden. Die Entscheidungshoheit liegt immer bei der anerkennenden Organisation/Universität.

back

 

 

Bietet die Donau-Universität Krems auch Grundstudien an?

Nein. Die Donau-Universität Krems ist eine Universität für Weiterbildung und bietet Studien an, die AbsolventInnen eines Grundstudiums bzw. Personen mit gleichzuhaltender Berufserfahrung zur Spezialisierung, Vertiefung und Aktualisierung ihrer Kenntnisse dienen. Die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen können je nach Studienangebot variieren, genaue Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte den Beschreibungen der einzelnen Lehrgänge.

back

 

 

Bietet die Donau-Universität Krems auch Doktoratsstudien an?

Im Frühjahr 2014 wurde der Donau-Universität Krems das Promotionsrecht zuerkannt. Die jeweiligen PhD-Studien bedürfen vor ihrem Start einer Studiengangsakkreditierung im Sinne des Hochschul-Qualitätssicherungsgesetzes durch die Agentur für Qualitätssicherung und Akkreditierung Austria.
Geplant sind in einem ersten Schritt drei PhD-Studien in den Feldern „Regenerative Medizin“, „Migration Studies“ sowie „Raum und soziale Inklusion“. Die Aufnahme in ein PhD-Studium setzt gemäß dem Universitätsgesetz 2002 grundsätzlich ein abgeschlossenes ordentliches Diplom- oder Masterstudium voraus. Aufgenommene PhD-Studierende werden an der Donau-Universität Krems in ein aktives Forschungsteam eingebunden. Das PhD-Studium dauert mindestens drei Jahre.
Die PhD-Studien befinden sich derzeit in der Akkreditierungsphase und werden frühestens im Frühjahr 2015 starten. 

back

 

 

Muss die Donau-Universität Krems ihre Lehrgänge akkreditieren lassen?

Nach österreichischem Recht ist für öffentliche Universitäten keine Verpflichtung zur Akkreditierung gegeben. Trotzdem lässt die Donau-Universität Krems einzelne Lehrgänge durch internationale Agenturen akkreditieren.

back

 

 

Was sind ECTS-Punkte?  

Das European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) soll sicherstellen, dass die Leistungen von Studenten an europäischen Hochschulen vergleichbar und bei einem Wechsel der Hochschule auch grenzüberschreitend anrechenbar sind. Dies wird ermöglicht durch die ECTS-Punkte (Credit Points) – Anrechnungseinheiten, die durch Leistungsnachweise erworben werden. Eingeführt wurde das ECTS im Rahmen des so genannten Bologna-Prozesses zur Schaffung eines gemeinsamen europäischen Hochschulraums.

 

back

 

 

Häufige Fragen zum Fernstudium

FAQ Fernlehre