Comparable, competitive higher education and academic research that meets modern research requirements in Europe: these are the goals of the so-called “European Higher Education Area”, or EHEA. It comprises the universities of EU member states and beyond, the EFTA countries and those bordering on the EU, such as Russia and Turkey.

The EHEA’s core elements are:

  • The European Credit Transfer System, ECTS
  • The ERASMUS+ program for the promotion of mobility for young people and adults
  • The research framework programs


As a public university, the University for Continuing Krems has integrated these EHEA core elements into its research and teaching.

Back to top