Dr. Michael Obersteiner

Director of Environmental Change Institute | University of Oxford

Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Martin Bertau

  • TU Bergakademie Freiberg
  • Institut für Technische Chemie
  • Leipziger Straße 29
  • 09599 Freiberg
  • Deutschland

Amit Roy

Dr. Amitava (Amit) Roy is an agriculturist who specializes in all aspects related to fertilizers to promote food and nutrition securities in less developed economies. Chair of the Sasakawa Africa Association, Japan, (dedicated to enhancing the productivity of agriculture in Africa, and supported by the Nippon Foundation), Dr. Roy is also the founding Executive Director of the Global Phosphorus Institute (GPI), which promotes efficient use of phosphorus in agriculture and in other sectors. Dr. Roy is a member of the Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination’s Global Food and Water Security Project, chaired by Dr. Wolfgang Danspeckgruber. Dr. Roy is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of the International Fertilizer Development Center (IFDC), where he served in this position for 22 years, retiring in 2015. He developed and established IFDC’s Virtual Fertilizer Research Center (VFRC) in 2010 to coordinate the creation of the next generation of fertilizers and production technologies. In 2010, along with Prof. Roland Scholz at the ETH Zurich, Dr. Roy co-led the Global Transdisciplinary Processes for Sustainable Phosphorous Management initiative, a multi-year research project that brought together scientists, practitioners, environmentalists, and NGOs to discuss pathways for sustainable phosphorus management.

Dipl.-Ing. Nils Haneklaus, MSc PhD

Associated Senior Scientist

Back to top