Research Summit Series #3

07/08/2019

Research Summit #03 | Sep 4, 2019 | 2:30 pm - 6:00 pm

LIve-Stream start times: San Francisco 5:30, New York 8:30, Sao Paulo 9:30, London 13:30, Krems 14:30, Moscow 15:30, Tbilisi 16:30, New Delhi 18:00, Bangkok 19:30, Singapore 20:30, Seoul 21:30, Sydney 22:30

Virtual Audience Q&A via image.science@donau-uni.ac.at

LINK TO LIVE STREAM

 

Digital technologies and culture have become part of the fabric of our societies. In the digital sphere, artistic creation and scientific research are closely intertwined with the latest technological developments. Interfaces, visualizations, social media platforms, innovative communication devices, and data mining are significant components of our digital heritage.

Summit#3

Does the inclusion of digital heritage into the museum world also enable digital arts to be finally represented in our publicly funded institutions?

Because of the postdigital turn, digital materialities are explored through multisensory devices, haptic interfaces and tangible user applications. Simultaneously, through digitalization, new experiences of (inaccessible) cultural heritage have been established with virtual and immersive installations, 3D illusions and data visualizations. Today, we live in ever-changing knowledge societies: how do these new digital infrastructures influence socio-cultural transformations?

The Research Summit is a new conference format at Danube University with the overall goal of bringing together scientists, technicians, students and the interested public for an interdisciplinary exchange.

 

Keynotes

Experimental Museology:
Sculpting Cultural Data
Prof. Dr. Sarah Kenderdine (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)

Making Digital Tangible
Prof. Dr. Hiroshi Ishii (Tangible Media Group, MIT Media Lab, Cambridge, USA)

Panel

  • Prof. Dr. Oliver Grau (Danube University Krems, Austria)
  • Prof. Dr. Ryszard Kluszczyński (University of Lodz, Poland)
  • Ass. Prof. Dr. Morten Søndergaard (Aalborg University, Denmark)

The Research Summit will be held at Audimax, Danube University Campus, Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Straße 30, 3500 Krems, Austria.

 

The event is free of admission. We kindly ask you to register at zbw@donau-uni.ac.at.

 

 

Information

Back to top

 

To Glossary

This website uses cookies to improve your user experience, for analytical purposes for optimizing our systems and for marketing purposes. By clicking on „OK" or continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to the use of cookies. More information concerning privacy policy and data protection official.

OK